Kevin Bacon and the Art of Relatable Pitches

Bacon BlogWe all know of Kevin Bacon as an American icon who got his start as a teenager shaking up a small town just to get his groove on. Since then, Kevin has become legendary, almost as powerful as Chuck Norris, with the ability to relate to anyone within 6 connections.

What if you could take Kevin’s ability to relate to anyone and apply it to yourself, your business, and product or service?

Well, it’s your lucky day because you can! And not only can you do this, but you should because the art of creating relatable and meaningful connections can dramatically enhance your pitching effectiveness.

With any pitch, it is important to connect what you are pitching or selling to your audience, whether it’s an investor or a potential customer. If the recipient can easily connect to and personally relate to what you are doing, not only will they be more engaged in your conversation, but they are more likely to remember you and your pitch afterwards, leading to a higher chance of success.

Enter Kevin Bacon.

When giving your pitch, remember the principles of the “Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon.” Now, I’m not advising that you should strive to connect your pitch back to Kevin Bacon, but you should be able to relate your pitch to the person you are talking to within six connection points or less. Given that a pitch should involve a conversation with someone else, or that your pitch could at least comes up out of a conversation at a networking event or meeting, use the information you learn or know about the other person to relate what you are pitching about to what that person understands.

For example, let’s say I sell makeup. I’m at a networking event and looking to make new connections and acquire new customers for my makeup line. I get into a conversation with a gentleman that runs an auto shop. Now, it’s safe for me to assume that he doesn’t wear makeup and would not understand what I am selling. Therefore, I should use other knowledge to relate my product to him or his business, in order to keep the conversation valuable.

First off, I can relate my pitch to him personally. While talking, I might ask about his family and find out he has kids. Then, I can assume that he currently has or at one point had a wife or girlfriend. With the typical stereotype of women taking a long time to get ready, I can introduce my pitch to his personal situation of probably having experienced frustration waiting for a wife, girlfriend or family member to get ready. Since he is now personally connected because he understands a common situation, I can share that my makeup line is quick and easy and leaves her feeling beautiful while wearing less makeup, which would help her get ready faster!

Or, I can relate my pitch to his business. I may bring up how I can imagine that he not only sees damaged cars, but probably dirty cars. Maybe we get into a conversation about how easy it is for the interior of cars to get dirty and dusty and that people may not take the time to clean them out. Then, I could ask how they typically clean out the interior of cars; maybe they have special tools to do this. Given that I sell makeup, I could offer the tip that eye shadow brushes can be used to get into the crevices of small places on the dashboard of cars to help remove dirt and dust. Furthermore, since I have a makeup line, I sell a great eye shadow brush that is the perfect size for this, so he should feel free to recommend it to any female customers he might have. There may also be the chance that he’s interested in purchasing some as tools for his shop or to resell to customers. This is a great way to connect that I sell makeup and beauty products to something with which he is already comfortable and familiar.

If you can connect your pitch to someone in 6 points or less, you are bound to see an improvement not only in the confidence of your communication abilities, but there will be a more effective reaction from the other party. So the next time you are pitching, think of Kevin Bacon and get to connecting!

Leave a Reply

